

The Leah

(playwriting prize)



Photo by Elizabeth O'Connor

The Leah Ryan Fund began giving out its annual prize in 2010 to honor the memory of Leah Ryan, and to encourage and support the work of brilliant and unrecognized women, trans, and non-binary playwrights. It is the purpose of the prize to perpetuate the integrity, compassion, and creativity that Leah herself possessed and inspired in others.

Winners of The Leah playwriting prize receive a cash award, currently \$5,000, and a public reading and summer workshop as part of the Powerhouse Theater Program at Vassar College. As hoped, the prize has been a springboard for winners who have subsequently won other competitions, have received full-staged productions of their work, and/or have gone on to successful careers in theater, TV, and film.

Past Winners

2022: **Jessica Moss**, FUNNIE; OR THE MOST LAMENTABLE COMEDIE OF JANE THE FOOLE

2021: Stefani Kuo, FINAL BOARDING CALL

2020: Tyler English-Beckwith, MINGUS

2019: Eliana Pipes, DREAMHOUSE

2018: Gina Femia, ALLOND(R)A

2017: Susan Soon He Stanton, WE, THE INVISIBLES

2016: **Genne Murphy**, GIANTESS

2015: Boo Killebrew, MILLER, MISSISSIPPI

2014: Jen Silverman, THE MOORS

2013: Jiehae Park, HANNAH AND THE DREAD GAZEBO

2012: Rachel Teagle, THE EVER AND AFTER

2011: Laura Marks, BETHANY

2010: Megan Mostyn-Brown, THE REST OF YOUR LIFE